What makes a person successful?

A person or thing that achieves desired aims or attains prosperity. This is how a dictionary would define it. The normal responses have to do with academics, professional career, getting married, or having successful children.

What really made me ask myself this question was a word that I received from God in a youth group retreat I went to where one of the preachers stated that I should consider myself successful. I was a bachelor’s degree student at the time this word came out. I had thought that I shouldn’t consider myself successful because I was still forming my life.

I knew that as we humans go through the different stages in life, the definition of success changes. From having grades be a marker of success in academia to being promoted at a job to having children be successful in life, priorities and criteria for success changes with life progression. I asked myself: What if there are general criteria for success that can be applied regardless of the stage that one is at?

The answer I came up with was that success is the contentedness that one has with where there at and where they are going. Yet when I shared this with someone, they reacted to this with negativity. So I hid this response. As I come back to this question three stages later, I see that it’s an awesome response because it is broad enough to be applicable to anyone and adaptable enough to accommodate the evolution of human beings. It also isn’t based solely on accomplishments, which was the thing that I found uncomfortable of conventional definitions of success.

I am biased, though. So if there is something that anyone wants to add that will make this better, it is more than welcome.

One thought on “What makes a person successful?

  1. Throughout the grand scheme of things you secure an A for effort and hard work. Where you lost me personally ended up being on the specifics. As as the maxim goes, the devil is in the details… And it could not be more correct right here. Having said that, permit me inform you what did do the job. Your text is pretty engaging and that is possibly the reason why I am making the effort in order to comment. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, although I can certainly notice the jumps in reason you make, I am not really confident of how you appear to unite your ideas that help to make the actual final result. For the moment I will yield to your position but trust in the future you link your dots better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

