Celebrating holidays alone.

This is apparently something to avoid. I avoided it myself for a long time. Not because I didn’t want to celebrate the holidays by myself, but because I wasn’t comfortable with everyone’s reaction to this decision. I knew that, even though it seemed illogical to everyone else, it was something that I felt I needed to do at some point. I felt that having that experience would make me more of an adult.

The most that happened was that the holiday, New Years, lost a bit of its significance. There was nothing exiting about it… except for the fireworks display that I saw from my living room. It isn’t a crime to enjoy a moment like this by yourself. For me, it meant having more independence.

For me, New Years lost a bit of significance because for me the new phase in my life happened in July when I started working. New Years didn’t feel like that much of an opportunity for a new beginning, other than this is mostly an illusion. Maybe the way to look at New Years is that the date, whatever it is for the different cultures in the world, is a sign to the human mind to consider change for the better. This isn’t a guarantee for change in an human and a date shouldn’t restrict our attempts at change.

Celebrating a holiday alone was something that I wanted to do. I did it. Would I do it again? I don’t know. I can’t see the future.

Leave a Reply

