My 25th Year.

Haven’t written in a while. Crazy busy. On to topic.

Today, September 13th, 2016, has been the last day that I lived as a 25 year old. On these days I always think about how much I am going to miss stating that I’m the age that I am finishing living. Then the birthday passes and it goes away.

The weeks before my birthday, I always take some time to reflect on the year that has passed. The successes, the failures, everything in between. It’s one of the two fixed times that I take to evaluate my progress in life, New Years being the other. This is the time where I look at the big picture.

This time last year, my thought is that I wasn’t worthy of becoming 25. I was in a state of limbo and I was battling feelings of failure. It was the first time that my initial plans weren’t happening where I had no plan B to fall back on.

Now, I’m out of that state of limbo. I have made ridiculous progress in my  life that has taken place since June… even though I can’t deny that the state of limbo had a purpose in God’s eyes. God has made my mission in life a bit clearer. God has worked my life in ways that I didn’t imagine that he would. God closed so many doors when it came to my job search and my academic pursuit, but he opened the door that I was meant to pass through. Now that I have had the time to look back and see the big picture of this last year, I get a sense of God’s plans and a sense of the importance of each step I take. The period that I was in the state of limbo sucked, but that period makes me appreciate where I am now even more.

Tomorrow I will be 26 years old. Today I can say that I am happy to leave 25 years old where it’s at. I am good with the progress that I have made in life. I can look forward to my 27th year lived in this Earth. I know that God’s work is not over. I can rest in his hands. I have learned over the years that God won’t let go of me that easily. I just have to have faith in Him and walk forward.

Leave a Reply

