Thoughts on my sister’s wedding.

I have no idea what to write about. I’m still processing my sister’s marriage. It will take a while to internalize it. I met my brother-in-law’s family… which are a taller version of my dysfunctional family. The wedding was a celebration of my sister and brother-in-law’s new chapter in life, but it was also a portrayal of the family’s divide, both racially and culturally. My brother’s and I stayed with Puerto Rican people mostly, Mayra’s co-workers stayed primarily with each other, and my brother-in-law’s family stayed primarily with each other. Everyone stayed within their comfort zone.

My thoughts on this event are the same as with any other event: I know I was there, but I don’t feel that I fully lived it. I don’t feel capable of that feat.

I enjoyed seeing my sister happy.

Leave a Reply

