Thoughts on breaking social norms as a part of my ministry.

Breaking social norms has been the norm for me. What I think, what I do, how I am have never been what other people expect of me. I have always liked this part of myself, even though at times other people intend to cause me pain over it. I have felt free to form my own path, my own morality, and my own code of conduct as a result of being outside of the norm.

When it comes to my ministry, I do think that I am going to have to break a few social norms. It’s not a matter of if, it’s a matter of when. I am more flexible when it comes to what is acceptable and what is not. I also have the good fortune of not having parents that are present in my daily life anymore, so I can make the decisions based on what I think is right rather than what they think is right. I am more willing to take certain risks based on who the other person is and what is the context of the situation. I think more about whether my breaking the norm will benefit the other person or not and how it will benefit them. It’s interesting to me, because this is the one area of my life where I am less self-centered than I sell myself to be.

Now I don’t know what my ministry is. I do think that it will not be something that is mainstream for what people think I am. I never had that vision for myself, anyway. I think that my ministry wouldn’t be my ministry without breaking a few social norms.

Besides, Jesus’ ministry wasn’t mainstream for His time. So breaking social norms should be expected of a Christian… right?

 

Leave a Reply

