Follow up on analysis of attitude regarding bass player thing.

I do thank my Dads for their perspective on the bass player thing. I also like the fact that I was able to get to my own empowered conclusion. But thinking about it, I do feel that my conclusion is selfish. I didn’t want to write it in the last post because it was getting to be too long. I also didn’t want to ruin the climax for you with this thought.

I feel that my empowered statement was a “I will have the last laugh and I will make sure that I’ll win over you in the long run” type idea. This was not the idea that Jesus gave… even though it was true. Jesus was humble about it. He knew that he would be victorious but he didn’t forget his humanity and his position at that time. Maybe humility is more bound by the state in which you are at in your Christian walk than anything else. I don’t know.

What I do know is that I am not humble with regard to this whole drum lessons thing. I am probably being as shady as he is. I am probably just as wrong. Maybe it is just the way that I’m selling it. I don’t know.

I do want to learn. I might not want to learn via an instructor though. I don’t want someone else deciding what I need to learn and what I don’t need to learn. Not anymore. Not at this stage that I’m at in music ministry at my church. If I were moving to another church, the story would be different. I want to be n control of what I learn and how I learn. I don’t want to waste my time or money.

I wish that I could forget that this is coming from a shady action from a bass player that earned the nickname “Princess” from me the first night that he played the guitar (because he wouldn’t do anything for himself other than grab the guitar and play, not even turn the amp on). I wish that I could just see the good, but I can’t. I am not innocent enough to not see it.

I don’t know what brain gymnastics I should do in order for my thoughts to be more Jesus like. It might be better for God to not allow me to have contact with the bass player until I figure this out. Otherwise, I’m in trouble whether I like this or not.

Leave a Reply

