Resisting temptation on Sunday School.

Yesterday I was at Sunday School trying to listen to the teacher’s assistant give the class, when she stated the following (give or take):

I want to finish the class by sharing a meditation text that touched me when I read it and I wanted to share it with you. It’s called the train of life. …

When I heard that, I really want to respond with the following:

Choo! Choo! (with the hand gesture of sounding a train horn)

I really had to bite my tongue on that one, because it was going to be a very funny, yet very immature quote. It was also going to disrupt a whole class of super spiritual youth because I wasn’t taking it seriously. They just have to be infants in the faith.

Oh well. I laughed. I still laugh when I think about it. When I told my father, he was appreciative of where my mind was at. But I know deep in my rational mind that it wasn’t the time to show the class my comedic side.

I learned the following: Resisting temptation is hard… specially for something that isn’t a sin, depending on how you look at it.

Leave a Reply

