When one peer betrayed common trust.

Yesterday I was at Sunday School and the Sunday School Director told me as we were going to the second floor of the church, where my class and the Sunday School offices were, to tell my classmates that he was on his way to the classroom to give the class. As a INTJ with comedic influence, I decided to say this news like so: “I have good news and bad news. The good news is that we don’t have to change classrooms. The bad news is that we don’t have to change classrooms because the Director will be giving the class. But don’t worry, if the Gentleman’s class 2 survived more than 10 years of having him as a teacher, you will survive today.”

I said it as a joke. I actually like his style of teaching. This is taking into consideration that he is the same person that gives me problems in music ministry.

When the class ended, the almost evangelist in the class (who is very spiritually inclined yet demonstrates that he is still a teenager in maturity even though he is 20 years old) told the Director about my comment. I got pissed off because it is known socially that if something that is said among peers is meant to stay among peers unless it’s a matter of health concerns. You don’t betray peer common trust.  That is not cool. Thankfully the Director continued the joke saying that the worse news is that he will give the class next week. This action indicated to me that I can’t trust this guy to keep a simple secret, much less one that is serious.

As an INTJ, I strive to have a say in the morality and common courtesy that I adopt even if it’s something that is socially acceptable. I need for my morality and ethics to make sense in order to embody them properly. Peer trust, even if it is superficial, is a necessary component to better deal with vertical authorities. This kid seemed to not get this memo. This kid’s actions created the unnecessary need to do damage control. When we left the classroom to go to the temple for the rest of the service, a classmate and I were commenting about how he screwed up in a comedic passive aggressive way…. about 10 feet from where he was walking. 

What have I learned?

  1. People Suck.
  2. I can’t trust the kid.
  3. And that peer common trust is really important to maintain.
2 thoughts on “When one peer betrayed common trust.

Leave a Reply

