Realization regarding my Pastor.

As an INTJ, I receive data from the external world ans analyze it to see what it says about a current situation and its implications on a broader context. The place where this is most evident for me is in my church. Today, my Pastor ordered to get rid of two cupboards. I wondered what was his basis for doing so, but it wasn’t enough for me to actually ask. I actually didn’t need to. The church’s handyman stated that the cupboards that the Pastor wanted to get rid of were precisely the ones that had no history of ever housing cockroaches. She also stated that the possibility that the bases for the Pastor’s orders were on the word of someone else in the church that might or might not know all of the facts.

This doesn’t shock me, as I have experienced this aspect of the Pastor before. This is probably my Pastor’s Achilles heel. You can tell him anything that is even remotely viable and he will take it as truth without investigating if it is true. Then he acts on this information, whether the information is true or false.

If the information is true, this fault is not noticed. Yet when the information on which he is acting on is false, there is no amount of proof that will sway his position towards the truth. That is a big problem. The actions that are done under this premise have had innumerable consequences in church. People have left the church prematurely because of it. People have lost faith in the Pastor. Who knows what else? I don’t. What I do know is that if he doesn’t work on this he will keep screwing up in his ministry.

When I see this as a pattern, my conclusion is that my word with respect to the Pastor has no meaning if someone that he esteems more than me (which are a lot of people) say something different, even if I am telling the truth and they are telling lies. It gives my lack of trust and respect for the Pastor a good foundation.

Don’t get me wrong. There are a lot of good qualities that he has. If he didn’t have patience and tolerance, a lot of us wouldn’t even be members of the church. I know that a perfect Pastor doesn’t exist, and that as church members we should have mercy on Pastor because we give him plenty of our crappyness to deal with. I just think that when one knows enough to realize the facts there is a internal conflict because what is sold as a child in Christ about Pastors has been proven to be not true.

The fact is that Pastors are just as human as the rest of us. To me, that means that they can be just as sucky as the rest of us. The only difference is the responsibility that they have towards God in comparison to the rest of us. Maybe our treatment towards them should be based on the same principle: we have mercy on them because they are just as human as we are, but we also hold them accountable for the responsibility that they have. I don’t know yet. I’m still trying to look at it from a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

