The Difference between Self-esteem and Self-efficacy.

As an INTJ, I know what I can and can’t do well. I also know that my idea of what I can and can’t do changes as I learn to do new tasks. So it’s important for me to go through certain experiences as an adult because I know that, even though is torture for others (and for me), it will benefit me (and them) in the long run.

In my INTJ analysis, I know that I am capable of doing certain things well if only I would get (or be given) the opportunity to try things out on my own and be successful at them. Family, church people, and academic people throughout my life only thought of getting the task done, so when they saw that I had difficulty in performing a task correctly they intervened thinking that they could do it better. In the long run, what it would take someone else 5 min. takes me 15-30 min.

In Health Education, there is a difference between self-esteem and self-efficacy. Self-esteem is how you see yourself. Self-efficacy is your belief that you can do a certain behavior.This concept changed the way I see my strength and my weakness. This implies that a lot of the time my problem is not self-esteem, it’s self efficacy.

When I was a child, I couldn’t take action to prevent the damage that this mentality of most adults and peers in my life did. Now as an adult, I have learned to recognize when I’m doing something in which I’m low on self-efficacy and take the necessary steps to not let that stop me from getting the job done and form my own self-efficacy. I also learned to differentiate Self-esteem from self-efficacy in these situations, changing my attitude with which I manage the situation externally and in my mind.

Leave a Reply

