Who do I want to be in the music ministry?

This question was one that I asked myself when I was one year into the music ministry, back in 2010. This was catalyzed by a conversation that I had with a fellow musician from my church who said that he was a simple musician with pride implying that this was all he was capable of doing. I, instead of reacting with admiration, felt disgust because that meant that he had no intention of being a person of impact to others. After this interaction I prayed to God and told him that I didn’t want to end up like him. I wanted to be of impact. I wanted to leave a legacy. The music ministry isn’t a ministry that directly works with people, which is an aspect that I like. I can be away from people behind the drum set, which is also cool. On the other hand, you don’t really have a chance to be of influence unless the person is in the music ministry with you. The implication is that if you want to be of influence, you have to step out of the cave and reach out to people. There is also an implicit idea that if you’re a musician that is all you can do and that is all you will ever amount for.

This led me to ask myself over the years: who do I want to be in the music ministry?

  1. A Christian, first of all.
  2. A excellent musician.
  3. A musician that plays with power and authority.
  4. A musician that is in tune with the heart of God.
  5. A musician that has an impact on others.
  6. A mentor.
  7. An example of what it means to be a musician.
  8. A gatekeeper.
  9. An advocate for creativity and variety in the music ministry.
  10. An advocate for a change of vision (in my church) from the idea that music is just there to fill gaps in the service and to accompany whoever is singing to the acceptance of music as a tool for directing praise and spiritual warfare.

I want to change what it means to be a musician for the better and give it a more biblical place in the church.

Leave a Reply

