INTJ Creativity.

What is creativity?

The state or quality of being creative. The ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.; originality, progressiveness, or imagination. The process by which one utilizes creative ability.

This was the definition I found by Dictionary.com when I Googled the word.

In the primary education system, creativity is exclusively linked to arts: music, drawing, sculpting, etc. This means that if you can’t draw, play an instrument, sing, do a sculpture, etc., you are not creative. Is this right?

Before I went to college, the statement by teachers was that I was intelligent. I was never complimented on my creativity, mainly because I wasn’t really known for my talent in arts for most of my academic life. I became a song-writer at 14. I became a thinker at 16 (though this doesn’t fit the school-based definition of creativity) I became a musician at 18 (officially). Creativity wasn’t promoted really, probably because the idea behind education is that before you can be “creative” you have to know basic theory.

I understand this idea because I have experimented creativity in music and philosophy both before and after learning pertinent theory and how creativity is concretely formed is different between the two states. But one isn’t necessarily more important than the other. You still innovate, but the innovation is different and is directed at different populations.

Creativity is not tied to a profession. The perception that Biology and Computer Science and Law, for example, are not creative fields should be destroyed when creativity is viewed under the definition provided. This is what I found out in college.

How are INTJs creative though? By the “ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.”. It is more about being able to carry the process of creativity using their intuition and thinking functions and not the manifestation it entails. 
Leave a Reply

