Deuteronomy 10: 21.

“He is your praise, and He is your God, who has done for you these great and awesome things which your eyes have seen.” (Deut. 10:20-21, NKJV)

I read chapter 10 of the book of Deuteronomy, book that I still have problems writing well in English, and these two verses captured my attention. Another of those gems that I’m finding on my daily read of the Bible. I read the Bible in Spanish, because I live in a Spanish speaking country. This means that when I blog about the Bible, some things that captivate me about the Bible in Spanish is not that visible in English.

I read this chapter on Thursday, August 20, 2015. The youth group of my church had that night a praise night and I had to sing a song on a youth retreat my church was having the day after. I read in Spanish: “He is the object of your praise, and he is your God, who has done with you these great and terrible things which your eyes have seen” (INTJness RV60 translation).  I was impacted by this text, especially because in context of what is written around it, because it felt to me as a conclusion to Moses reminder to the people of Israel about their history.

My nightly read Bible doesn’t have the text divided into parts, so I don’t necessarily have the tittle bias when reading. To be able to see this text as a part of Moses whole speech was interesting. It made me happy to see a God-centered history lesson from a man that was an active part of it.

“God is the object of my praise.” This phrase captivated my heart, because it provides direction to what I do. “He is your God”, a phrase that provides a sense of ownership. “Who has done with you these great and terrible things which your eyes have seen”, a reason to praise Him and a confirmation of the veracity and reality of the object of my praise: my God.

This can easily become my favorite Bible verse. That’s saying a lot because I don’t like having any favorites..

Leave a Reply

