Truth and Lies? Or just bad speaking?

How do I know when I’m telling the truth and when I’m telling a lie? That depends on what is being talked about.

  1. When I’m talking about facts, a lie is said when the facts aren’t cited correctly.
  2. When I’m talking about a memory, a lie is said when what I said isn’t consistent with the memory,
  3. When I’m talking about a feeling, a lie is said when I immediately question what I said.

Why is this topic important to me? As an INTJ I believe that it’s important to have a morality that is my own, whatever that means. So as a christian that comes from a christian family that has taught that lying was good in certain contexts, I saw that what my family was teaching was against what I perceived (and the Bible state) that was wrong. That made me have  to make a decision when I was in high school that I was going to do everything in my power to not lie.

As much as I try not to lie, I end up failing for the reasons mentioned above. When I find out that I lied, I feel guilty because I failed. Sometimes it happens and I feel that I can’t avoid it, because in my mind I’m telling the truth but when I speak I can’t state what in my mind correctly: I end up lying. This makes me realize that what I really have is not necessarily a lying problem but a speaking problem. The probability that my inconsistency with correct expression of my thoughts is one of my weakness is relatively high. So maybe what I should focus on is not 100% on not lying but on speaking the truth that is in my mind.

One thought on “Truth and Lies? Or just bad speaking?

  1. I am also an INTJ, and I know what you mean. For me, I tend to lie to keep people from pressing closer. “I’m fine”, I say, when in reality I’m not ok. I just don’t want to have to explain things to people. I’ll also try to minimize what I’m going through for the same reasons.
    I am also a Christian, and so I know lying is wrong, and that is one thing I have been working on as well, was being honest. I think, by being more real with other people, we’ll have a better chance of reflecting Jesus than if we hide ourselves. At least, that’s why I’m working on it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

